Tags

,

Another Hugo read and another graphic novel series I was thrown into the middle of. (Terrible sentence, sorry about that, I suppose it should be “into the middle of which I was thrown” but seriously, who talks like that?) I did my due diligence by at least reading a plot summary on Wikipedia, so I had a very basic idea of what was going on, but not a good one.

Locke and Key is about a family (the Lockes) that live in “Keyhouse”. There’s a bunch of keys that do weird stuff and the artwork is really gross and bloody. I want to say it wasn’t my thing, but I actually get the feeling that if it was a regular novel I had read from the beginning I’d probably really like it. Which isn’t to say the artwork wasn’t beautiful, it was probably my favorite in the entire group of nominees when looked at objectively, it was just too much for me.

I really can’t begin to describe the events of this book without mad spoilers (I think) and any sense of coherency. I don’t know if I’ll go back an read more of them or not. The story intrigues me, I just don’t know if I can get past the gore.

